top of page


The Jake Leg Jug Band bring you the authentic sounds of 1920's and 30's America - jazz, blues, ragtime and gospel. Songs of murder, betrayal, gambling, liquor and redemption.

After self-releasing their debut album Cotton Mouth, the band signed to one of the UK's most prestigious Jazz labels, recording three albums as part of the 'Vintage Recording Project', recording live around ribbon microphones, as it would have been back in the 1930’s. ‘Next Stop!’ ‘Everythin's Jake’ and ‘Break a Leg’ all met with rave reviews;

"A masterpiece of nostalgic music. The band display real virtuosity and create a wonderful sound that will be hard for any other band to repeat"  Folk North West


The band followed up with the compilation 'Fifth Avenue', their debut release for the Green Bullet record label in late 2018.

"Pick any track at random and prepare to be entertained "  RnR

January 2020 saw the release of album number 6, 'Goodbye Booze' which commemorated 100 years since the start of the American prohibition, followed in 2021 with an additional vinyl release on Coastal Light Records.

“Pretty damn good! There isn’t a weak number on the album”  Blues Matters

2022 marked the 10th anniversary of the band and saw them play over 100 gigs plus the release of their first ever live album – ‘Live at Audley Theatre’

“It’s hard to pick out favourites. Thoroughly entertaining” Blues In Britain


2023 marked the release of the band’s 8th album ‘Hello Central’, heralding in a new era as a permanent 3 piece band, augmented by additional live musicians. The album proved to be the band's most successful release to date both critically and commercially, receiving airplay on BBC Radio 2.

"A truly unique and talented group of musicians, their talent shines through on each and every track” Blues Blast Magazine (USA)

"In its genre, this album is simply indispensable" Rootstime (Belgium)

"Probably their best CD. Thoroughly enjoyable - excellent entertainment” Just Jazz

2024 sees the release of the 9th album in 12 years, 'Some Glad Morning' a full album of spirituals.

The line up is:

Duncan Wilcox (Vocals & Double Bass)

Liam Ward (Vocals, Harmonica, Jug, Washboard, Saw & Kazoo)

Warren James (Vocals, Guitar & Banjo)

plus a host of guest musicians...

bottom of page